Mechanics of airflow

RedZep

Always one of the main variables that is discussed for upcoming vapes, the airflow.
As I'm fairly new to the hobby, I had presumed until recently that the more open the airflow the better. However I have seen many instances of people preferring less open.

I'm curious as to the mechanics of airflow. Does a more open airflow require a stronger pull? Does a tighter airflow kill a bowl faster, and in less hits? If so what are the potential physics behind this?

When a vape is too open/tight what are the negative variables associated with that?

What is an example vape that has your perfect airflow and why?

I'm open to any and all discussion as I'm very keen to learn more about this.

Farid

In all vapes, the air that flows through can either cool the weed or it can heat the weed.
Colloquially on this forum - when the air has a net heating effect on the weed the device is classified as a "convection" vaporizer. When the air has a net cooling effect it is classified as a "conduction" vaporizer.

Even in instances where the air has a net cooling effect many vapes are able to "preheat" the incoming air, thus reducing the cooling effect. Examples of this include the air that goes through the grooves on a vapcap tip's grooves, or the air that travels around an Arizer's oven

Whenever you have the air being heated, the speed at which you draw will impact how much the air is heated. Draw very quickly, and the air may not have time to heat up.